Karachi Kings ended their campaign in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight with a resounding 86-run victory over table-toppers Lahore Qalandars in their final group fixture at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The win lifted the Kings to finish in fifth place with six points in 10 matches, ahead of Quetta Gladiators on net run rate.

Muhammad Akhlaq, who was playing his first match of the season, was named the player of the match for his match-winning half-century knock. He top-scored with 51 runs off just 36 balls, including five boundaries and two sixes, and shared a 70-run partnership for the second wicket with Tayyab Tahir, who scored 40 runs off 23 balls.

Karachi Kings lost an early wicket of Haider Ali in the first over of the match but managed to post a challenging total of 196-7, thanks to two fifty-plus partnerships for the second and fifth wicket. Captain Imad Wasim and Ben Cutting also contributed to the total with a 52-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

In their chase, Lahore Qalandars never looked to threaten the target and lost wickets at regular intervals. All-rounder Hussain Talat was the only batter to cross the 20-run mark, scoring 25 runs off as many balls. The Kings’ bowlers dominated the Qalandars’ batting unit, with Akif Javed being the most economical bowler, conceding just eight runs in three overs and picking up two important wickets.

After the match, Akhlaq expressed his satisfaction with his debut performance and thanked Allah for granting him respect in his first match. He also praised his team’s efforts throughout the tournament and attributed their defeats to bad luck and poor death bowling.

Karachi Kings had a disappointing campaign this season, finishing outside the playoff spots, despite some impressive individual performances. The team lost most of their matches by close margins, with their below-par death bowling being a prime reason for their defeats.

The PSL season eight saw some thrilling cricketing action and witnessed some outstanding individual performances, including Mohammad Rizwan’s record-breaking run-scoring spree for Multan Sultans, and Shahnawaz Dhani’s impressive debut season for Multan Sultans.

The tournament was marred by the withdrawal of several foreign players due to security concerns, including some high-profile names such as Chris Gayle, Dale Steyn, and Alex Hales. However, the PSL managed to provide a platform for young and upcoming local talent to showcase their skills and gain valuable experience.

PSL 8 (Match no. 30): Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings Score card

Karachi Kings Batting

Muhammad Akhlaq (WK)c D Wiese b Haris Rauf513652141.67
Haider Alic Kamran Ghulam b Dilbar Hussain8520160.00
Tayyab Tahirc Dilbar Hussain b Hussain Talat402341173.91
Qasim Akramc S Dadswell b Hussain Talat230066.67
Imad Wasim(C)b Zaman Khan453160145.16
Ben Cuttingb Haris Rauf331423235.71
Irfan Khanc Hussain Talat b Zaman Khan02000.00
James FullerNot out10510200.00
Mohammad UmarNot out120050.00
Extra6 (b 0, w 5, nb 1, lb 0)
Total196/7 (20)
Yet To BatImran Tahir, Akif Javed

Lahore Qalandars Bowling

Dilbar Hussain3037112.33
Zaman Khan403929.75
Haris Rauf4052213.00
David Wiese10606.00
Rashid Khan403007.50
Hussain Talat302428.00
Shane Dadswell10808.00

Lahore Qalandars Batting

Fakhar Zamanc Ben Cutting b Mohammad Umar131111118.18
Abdullah Shafiquec Tayyab Tahir b Akif Javed260033.33
Kamran Ghulamb Akif Javed111001110.00
Sam Billings(WK)c Muhammad Akhlaq b JK Fuller11130084.62
Hussain Talatc Ben Cutting b Imran Tahir252540100.00
David Wiese(C)c Irfan Khan b IM Wasim270028.57
Shane Dadswellc Irfan Khan b Imran Tahir340075.00
Rashid KhanRetired hurt6131046.15
Haris Raufc JK Fuller b Mohammad Umar181402128.57
Dilbar Hussainb IM Wasim8320266.67
Zaman KhanNot out670185.71
Extra5 (b 0, w 2, nb 0, lb 3)
Total110/9 (18.5)

Karachi Kings Bowling

Imad Wasim402626.50
Akif Javed30822.67
Mohammad Umar3.502025.22
James Fuller402917.25
Imran Tahir402426.00

Lahore Qalandars Playing XI:

  1. Fakhar Zaman
  2. Abdullah Shafique
  3. Sam Billings (wk)
  4. Kamran Ghulam
  5. Hussain Talat
  6. Shane Dadswell
  7. Rashid Khan
  8. David Wiese (c)
  9. Dilbar Hussain
  10. Haris Rauf
  11. Zaman Khan

Karachi Kings Playing XI:

  1. Haider Ali
  2. Muhammad Akhlaq (wk)
  3. Tayyab Tahir
  4. Shoaib Malik
  5. Imad Wasim (c)
  6. Ben Cutting
  7. Irfan Khan Niazi
  8. James Fuller
  9. Imran Tahir
  10. Muhammad Umer
  11. Akif Javed